The Laurier Institute for the Study of Public Opinion and Policy is a research center at Wilfrid Laurier University which studies issues pertaining to the creation, use and representation of public opinion in the policy process. The Institute serves as a catalyst to promote individual and collaborative research on these issues. In addition, the Institute monitors the practices and claims of the public opinion and interest group industries, and serves as an educational resource to the University and the larger community on questions and issues pertaining to those claims and practices.

Dr. Simon Kiss, Director
Digital Media and Journalism Department
Wilfrid Laurier University, Brantford Campus
73 George Street, Brantford, ON, N3T2Y3
Office: OD 202
Tel: 519-756-8228, ext.5936
Email:[email protected]

I’m a political scientist in the Digital Media and Journalism Program at WLU. My research is primarily focussed on political communication, public opinion and political parties. Much of my recent research has focussed on perceptions of risk from technologies and medical interventions.. I’m originally from Alberta and completed my PhD at Queen’s University in 2008 and did post-doctoral work at the Freie Universität Berlin.





Dr. Jason Roy, Deputy Director
Political Science Department
Wilfrid Laurier University
Office: 4-132, Dr. Alvin Woods Building
Tel: 519-884-0710, ext.3724
Email: [email protected]

My primary areas of interest include political participation and behaviour, electoral politics, public opinion, and Canadian politics. I am currently engaged in research projects that employ online experiments to assess how individuals form political preferences. I have been especially interested in the interaction between political cognition, political interest and contextual factors that influence the effort allotted to the deliberation process and the preferences that are formed.


Dr. Andrea Perrella, Deputy Director
Political Science Department
Wilfrid Laurier University
Office: 4-124, Dr. Alvin Woods Building
Tel: 519-884-0710, ext.2719
Fax: 519-746-3655

I studied political science at l’Université de Montréal, obtaining a PhD in 2006 and an MSc in 1995. Prior to joining Laurier, I was a postdoctoral fellow at the Canada Research Chair in Electoral Studies. I also held a limited-term assignment at Concordia University in Montreal. My main research areas are political behaviour; participation; electoral politics; political communication; public opinion of public health; Canadian, Ontario and Quebec politics. 

Research Staff

Dr. Matthew R. Arp,
Research Associate

Matthew earned his PhD in Political Science from West Virginia University. His research interests include great power conflict and international norm creation. He joins LISPOP as a research associate with a background in large-N data collection, including During-Conflict Justice (DCJ) and Northern Ireland Research Initiative (NIRI).

Samantha McGregor,
Research Assistant

Samantha is a fourth-year undergraduate student from Wilfrid Laurier University, Brantford, majoring in Digital Media and Journalism and minoring in Leadership. McGregor is also completing a graduate certificate in Contemporary Media studies from Conestoga College.



Kristin Mead,
Research Assistant

Kristin is a fourth-year political science major at Laurier and a hopeful future JD candidate. She has worked as a research assistant with LISPOP for two academic years now and is passionate about research regarding policy and law in Canada.


Scott Lu,
Research Assistant

Scott is a third-year undergraduate student at Laurier, majoring in Political Science. This is his first year with LISPOP and he is incredibly excited to work with the team. He hopes to continue the analytical work of greats like Dr. Kay.

Affiliate Members

Dr. Christopher Alcantara, Department of Political Science, Western University

Dr. Darrell Bricker, CEO Ipsos Public Affairs, Office: 300-160 Bloor Street East, Toronto, ON M4W 1B9

Dr. Steven Brown, Professor Emeritus, Department of Political Science, Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. Christopher Cochrane, Department of Political Science, University of Toronto

Dr. David Docherty, President, Brandon University

Prof. Kimberly Ellis-Hale, Sociology Department, Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. Anna Esselment, Department of Political Science, University of Waterloo

Dr. Timothy B. Gravelle, SurveyMonkey

Dr. Ailsa Henderson, School of Social and Political Science, University of Edinburgh

Dr. Penelope Ironstone, Cultural Studies, Wilfrid Laurier Unversity

Dr. Loren King, Department of Political Science, Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. Andrea Lawlor, Department of Political Science, King's University College, Western University

Dr. Nikolaos I. Liodakis, Department of Sociology, Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. S. Mark Pancer, Psychology Department, Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. Anthony Piscitelli, Liberal Studies, Conestoga College

Dr. James Popham, Criminology, Wilfrid Laurier University

Dr. Zachary Spicer, Institute of Public Administration of Canada | Department of Political Science, Western University

Geoffrey Stevens, Department of Political Science, Wilfrid Laurier University